Onrine Engurishee (Online English)

I’m back! It’s been months since I wrote anything here. I didn’t have the liberty to do so because of my ‘hecticules’ schedule.
Being a full time Online English Teacher, engulfed with a number of students…nah, I won’t talk about my daily tasks…is a blast. I’ve started to accept students for my home-based teaching program and so far is a very rewarding experience. Though, I never saw myself becoming a teacher (the fact that I hate going to school…or to be exact, I hate schoolwork. But I like the social life and the relationships you can have in school) but somehow it turns out to be very enjoyable ( I always had this funny concept that teachers hate their job because its soooo boring, but I prove me wrong ^^). The fact that my students expressing their gratitude because they’re benefiting from my lectures, melts my heart.
In doing online classes, you need online tools and thank goodness there are smart people who invented these – 1. Skype.

skype_logo_1_medium1

Although, I’m a Vista user, the newest version has bugs (not the bunny) and I have to use the older version. but its doing great.
Imagine doing a transcontinental phone call via VOIP, PC to PC, without a fee, not even a penny, and you get a quality sound as if you’re having a face to face conversation with that person on the other line. It is simply great!

2. To the brains of this site:

dimdim-leader11

Dimdim let’s you host or join an online conference without a fee. But you can also get their premium services (of course with a fee) but the free stuff is working like an oiled Hayabusa ripping the highway.
File sharing is awesome and it is convenient. Its user friendly and even the dumbest person can look like Einstein when he gets his hands over this.
So, to the people behind Skype and Dimdim, Way to go!

5 thoughts on “Onrine Engurishee (Online English)

  1. Hi Karl,
    Great to read how technology can make it possible and easy to work from home and teach online. Not to mention avoiding the daily commute.
    We also have a screen sharing app that you may wish to add to your collection of online teaching tools: Mikogo http://www.mikogo.com Have you tried this before? It’s free and allows you to share you screen across the Web with multiple participants simultaneously. Some of the benefits include its ease of use, security, speed and range of features. One such feature includes remote control so you can personally assist a student by taking control of their keyboard and mouse. Helpful for students working together on a project over the Internet.
    Drop by our website to check it out, and feel free to contact me if you would like further info.

    Cheers!

    Andrew Donnelly
    The Mikogo Team

    1. Hi Andrew,
      I appreciate you dropping by and I thank you for giving me an insight about mikogo. Certainly, I’d check this out. Indeed, avoiding the hassles of daily commute is something truly great. I mean, who else hasn’t been ‘terrorized’ by street havoc, and its getting worse.
      I’ll pass the word to my friends so they could check out mikogo too.

      Kind regards,
      Karl

  2. Hi Karl,
    Thanks for that. Yeah, please drop by the website and check it out. There is a user guide/videos on the homepage if you would like, but this is almost unnecessary because Mikogo is very easy to get started.
    “Terrorized” is a good way to describe street havoc. And I think “frustrating” is how I would describe trying to find a parking spot when I eventually make it there 😦
    If you or your friends have any questions about Mikogo, feel free to send me an email or drop by the Mikogo Forum: http://forum.mikogo.com

    Thanks!

    Andrew
    The Mikogo Team

  3. Karl-

    Glad you like Dimdim. Have to say it’s the first time I’ve heard it put that way–“the free stuff is working like an oiled Hayabusa ripping the highway.” I like it!

    Everyone should experience working from home. I was a commuter for almost 15 years. Now, I’m working from home (my dog sleeping at my feet) collaborating with people around the world.

    Thanks!

    -k
    Kevin Micalizzi, Community Manager
    Dimdim Web Conferencing
    e: kevin@dimdim.com
    twitter: @dimdim
    facebook: dimdim.com/facebook

    If you love Dimdim, please vote for us in the Webware 100! http://bit.ly/Vote_for_Dimdim

  4. Hi Kevin,

    I appreciate you dropping by my blog and yes, I’m really speeding up the cash flow and my students love the visual presentations that we’re able to share in our virtual classroom. Thanks to dimdim’s smart features. Loading files and browsing through URL’s is very easy.

    I’m spreading the word to my co-teachers here and some of them are already using dimdim for their online presentations.

    Thanks!

    Karl Lim
    Online English Teacher
    Manila, Philippines

Leave a Reply

